Back to All Events

Ampthill 1st VX vs Nottingham

  • Ampthill & District Community Rugby Club United Kingdom (map)
This is arguably the biggest day in Ampthill Rugby Clubs History playing the club’s first game ever in the Green King IPA Championship at Dillingham Park against Nottingham Rugby.

It has taken many years of effort to take the club from level seven twelve years ago to level two and the Green King IPA Championship and I would just like to personally thank all our members volunteers, Coaching staff medical team and management team for all their efforts over the past twelve seasons.
— Alex Radley, Club Chairman (Ampthill)

Paul Turner names a starting fifteen with three changes to the side that won against Bedford Blues last Saturday at Goldington Road.

Soane Tonga’uiha returns to the side at loosehead prop for his first start of the season and Club Captain Billy Johnson returns at blindside flanker. Former Nottingham Scrum Half Darryl Veenendaal starts for the A’s.

It’s good to see Soane and Billy back in the side but we know Nottingham rested a number of starters in last week’s game against Cornish Pirates so we are expecting a really tough game.

The players selected to play in this match will go down in club history as the first Ampthill Team to play in the Green King IPA Championship and that’s a huge honour for these 23 players. I’m sure it will be a great occasion.
— Paul Turner, Head Coach (Ampthill)

Match Gallery: 20191012 Ampthill 1st XV vs Nottingham

Store: * Coming Soon *

Ampthill Squad

  1. Soane Tonga’uiha

  2. Dave Ward

  3. Aleki Lutui

  4. Henri Williams

  5. Shay Kerry

  6. Billy Johnson

  7. Joe Bercis

  8. Maama Molitika

  9. Darryl Veenendaal

  10. Louis Grimoldby

  11. Nigel (Sam) Baker

  12. Jarryd Sage

  13. Serafin Bordoli

  14. Kwaku Aseidu

  15. Karim Lynch

  16. Syd Blackmore

  17. Matthew Collins

  18. Ben Christie

  19. Jon Kpoku

  20. Facundo Dominguez

  21. Gavin Williams

  22. Joshua Sharp

  23. Sam Hanks

Nottingham Squad

  1. Aniseko SIO

  2. Luke COLE

  3. Oisin HEFFERNAN

  4. Llewelyn JONES

  5. Tom HOLMES

  6. James CONNOLLY

  7. Will OWEN

  8. Josh POULLET

  9. Murray MCCONNELL

  10. Tommy MATTHEWS

  11. Ben FOLEY

  12. Luke PETERS

  13. Harry STRONG

  14. David WILLIAMS

  15. Sean SCANLON

  16. Jake FARNWORTH

  17. Jamie JACK

  18. Ben BETTS

  19. Cameron JORDAN

  20. Sam LEWIS

  21. Alex DOLLY


  23. Kyran BUNGAROO

Earlier Event: October 5
Bedford vs Ampthill 1st VX